Finding Out

The Match results for 2017 are being released right now. If anyone is reading this who was in this Match, I hope you got an amazing spot! I hope you’re really excited! But if you are, you’re probably out celebrating with your classmates right now and not reading this post.

If anyone finds this post today, I’m guessing you didn’t match. And I’m sorry. I’m sorry you have to deal with this. But I’m glad you found my blog. Because I’ve been there and I know how devastating this is for you. I wish I could fix it so you don’t have to go through what I did.

I’m here to tell you not to believe everything you read online. There are some very negative people who went unmatched and it is scary reading their stories. They are stories without happiness, without hope. And it doesn’t have to be like that.

I can honestly look back now and say I had a really amazing year! It was hard, and it really sucked at points. I yelled. I cried. I blamed myself and CaRMS and programs and everyone in between. But I also grew a lot this year, and I now know I will think of this year off fondly. I already do.

This is just a short post to say I’m sorry that you ended up here. I really am. You get to be angry. You get to be sad. Yell and scream and cry today.

But then try to get back and enjoy the last few weeks of medical school. Enjoy graduating. Celebrate all your accomplishments. And know there are a lot more ahead.

 

Image credit: Francois Hoang

Leave a Reply

